Florida Local Section


To recognize leadership and contributions toward the advancement of the profession of chemistry.

Establishment and Support

The award was established in 1952 by vote of the Florida Section of the American Chemical Society and has been given each year since then at the annual scientific meeting of the Florida Sections.


The award consists of a plaque and $500, plus travel expenses for the purpose of attending the Florida Annual Meeting and Exposition (FAME) to receive the award and to give an address. The Florida Section of the American Chemical Society will also provide up to $500 in support of the symposium centered around the award recipient’s research interests. This specially organized symposium will be part of the Florida Annual Meeting and Exposition that is held in May each year unless the spring national ACS meeting is held in Orlando.

Rules of Eligibility

A nominee must be a resident of the Southeastern United States and must have made outstanding contributions to teaching, research, publications or service in advancing the profession. The award recipient gives an address at the Annual Meeting.

To submit a nomination:

The nominator should obtain the consent of the nominee, complete the form available at http://fame2017.fl-acs.org/nomination.php outlining the nominee’s qualifications and contributions to the profession which would be recognized by the Florida Award.

In addition, the following supporting documents are required:

1.  Two seconding letters of support for the nomination and
2.  a copy of the nominee’s current curriculum vitae.

Nominations for the 2017 Florida Award are currently closed.  

2017 Florida Award Winner

Professor David N. Beratan

Department of Chemistry

Duke University


The Florida Award selection committee recognizes Professor Beratan for his contributions to theoretical biophysics and biophysical chemistry, along with major impacts in teaching and service to the larger chemistry community.  Professor Beratan is a leading researcher, teacher, and chemist, and it is our honor to present him with the 2017 Florida Award.

Professor Beratan received a B. S. degree from Duke University in 1980 and a Ph. D. in Chemistry from the California Institute of Technology in 1986.  He began his independent career at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory in 1987 before moving to the University of Pittsburgh in 1992, where he rose through the ranks to become a full professor in 1997.  In 2001, Professor Beratan joined the faculty at Duke University, where his theoretical work continues to have a transformative impact on modern chemistry, particularly the fields of biochemistry and biophysical chemistry.

Professor Beratan is the recipient of a number of other national and regional awards, including recognition as an Elected Fellow for the Royal Society of Chemistry (2013), the American Chemical Society (2013), the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2002), and the American Physical Society (2001).  Other recent awards include the Charles H. Herty Medal of the Georgia section of the ACS (2015), as well as the Feynman Prize for Nanoscience (Theory) from the Foresight Institute (2013).

Previous Florida Award Recipients

1952 Paul Gross (Duke University)
1953 A. E. Wood (University of Mississippi)
1954 C. B. Pollard (University of Florida)
1955 H. E. Skipper (Southern Research Institute)
1956 George K. Davis (University of Florida)
1957 C. R. Hauser (Duke University)
1958 Karl Dittmer (Florida State University)
1959 J. E. Hawkins (University of Florida)
1960 H. H. Sisler (University of Florida)
1961 Michael Kasha (Florida State University)
1962 Jack Hine (Georgia Institute of Technology)
1963 George Butler (University of Florida)
1964 C. T. Bahner (Carson-Newman College)
1965 Werner Herz (Florida State University)
1966 Paul Tarrant (University of Florida)
1967 O. K. Rice (University of North Carolina)
1968 Earl Frieden (Florida State University)
1969 John Baxter (University of Florida)
1970 S. P. McGlynn (Louisiana State University))
1971 Ray Lawrence (USDA Naval Stores Laboratory)
1972 James V. Quagliano (Florida State University)
1973 Gregory Choppin (Florida State University)
1974 Sidney Fox (University of Miami)
1975 Dean F. Martin (University of South Florida)
1976 William Jones (University of Florida)
1977 Cecil Criss (University of Miami)
1978 Harry Walborsky (Florida State University)
1979 Mary Good (Louisiana State University)
1980 Raymond Sheline (Florida State University)
1981 Wallace Brey (University of Florida)
1982 ames D. Winefordner (University of Florida)
1983 Theodore A. Ashford (University of South Florida)
1984 Leo Mandelkern (Florida State University)
1985 Brian Stevens (University of South Florida)
1986 Harry P. Schultz (University of Miami)
1987 DeLos F. DeTar (Florida State University)
1988 Edward K. Mellon (Florida State University)
1989 William R. Dolbier (University of Florida)
1990 R. Bruce King (University of Georgia)
1991 George R. Newkome (University of South Florida)
1992 Charles E. Carraher (Florida Atlantic University)
1993 Norman L. Allinger (University of Georgia)
1994 Albert Padwa (Emory University)
1995 Alan R. Katritzky (University of Florida)
1996 Luis Echegoyen (University of Miami)
1997 N. Yngve Öhrn (University of Florida)
1998 Jack Saltiel (Florida State University)
1999 Mostafa El-Sayed (Georgia Institute of Technology)
2000 Rodney J. Bartlett (University of Florida)
2001 Thomas J. Vickers (Florida State University)
2002 Alan G. Marshall (Florida State University)
2003 Kenneth B. Wagener (University of Florida)
2004 John G. Dorsey (Florida State University)
2005 Charles R. (Martin University of Florida)
2006 Roger M. Leblanc (University of Miami)
2007 Naresh Dalal (Florida State University)
2008 George Christou (University of Florida)
2009 Kirk S. Schanze (University of Florida)
2010 Timothy Cross (Florida State University)
2011 Frank Millero (University of Miami)
2012 Weihong Tan (University of Florida)
2013 Joe Schlenoff (Florida State University)
2014 Weitao Yang (Duke University)
2015 Lisa McElwee-White (University of Florida)
2016 Richard D. Adams (University of South Carolina)